Quote Originally Posted by Brutus View Post
Former umpire Jim McKean told ESPN that he thought it was the correct call:

http://espn.go.com/video/clip?id=8467452

He too must be a contrarian.
That's just an umpire sticking up for his bretheren as his words don't even make any sense. He says in the first minute of that clip that the fielder can "just pick the ball up and throw to second and first for a double play". Well, who's he going to get at 1B? Is the hitter standing in the batters box this whole time? He also admits that the call wasn't made at the top of the arc. Mistake #2. Finally, it wasn't an infield fly. It was in the OF and it was the LF's ball to catch. Horrible call.