Heck, look at your first image... where you note that Kozma had given up on the ball, it's still not even in the screen yet. So the umpire determined that had he not been called off/given up on it, he could have made an ordinary effort to catch it.
That, by rule, is a correct interpretation. It's only subjective as to whether it was ordinary effort. But the rule was correct. Your photos actually help my case. The ball can't even be seen in the first image where Kozma starts forward. He had plenty of time to stay under it (or take a step to the left) in those two seconds.