Attended 1976 World Series in my Mother's Womb. Attended 1990 World Series Game 2 as a 13 year old. Want to take my son to a a World Series Game in Cincinnati in my lifetime.
I don't think the rule should apply if the ball falls beyond the infield behind the infielder. Realistically, if the ball is dropping behind the infielder, he's going to have to get the ball, turn, and throw. Only if the runners are really slow will a double play result. Otherwise, it would have to be fielded by an outfielder running in, in which case the infield fly rule doesn't apply. Maybe for the sake of clarity, they should add an infield fly line to the field. If the ball falls beyond the line, the rule does not apply.
Burn down the disco. Hang the blessed DJ. Because the music that he constantly plays, it says nothing to me about my life.
I think the rule should not have been applied, however it is a judgement call and the LF umpire (why is an outfield umpire calling an Infield fly???) used his judgement. Maybe some good will come out of this, like perhaps some clarification on when to use this rule, or maybe just the fact that only an infield umpire can make the determination (playoffs only), something.
"I have noticed even people who claim everything is predestined, and that we can do nothing to change it, look before they cross the road." Stephen Hawking
I figure I have watched somewhere around 2,500 MLB baseball games in my life, either in person or on TV. In all those games, I can never recall seeing a call by an ump on an "infield fly" like that one. Maybe I'm misjudging, but it seems to me that it's not right to have seen a call being made for the first time in the playoffs. That just doesn't seem right to me.