The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced its 2012 Rookie of Year awards Tuesday, electing Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim center fielder Mike Trout in the American League unanimously. The National League vote was won by outfielder Bryce Harper, of the Washington Nationals.

Election results are as follows:

1st Place: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim (unanimous)
2nd Place: Yoenis Céspedes, Oakland Athletics
3rd Place: Yu Darvish, Texas Rangers

1st Place: Bryce Harper, Washington Nationals
2nd Place: Wade Miley, Arizona Diamondbacks
3rd Place: Todd Frazier, Cincinnati Reds

2012 IBWAA Manager of the Year awards will be announced Wednesday.

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 by Howard Cole, editor of, to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the BBWAA.

Among others, IBWAA members include Barry Bloom,; Tim Brown, Yahoo Sports; Fred Claire, former General Manager, Los Angeles Dodgers; Joe McDonnell,; Ramona Shelbourne,; Tom Hoffarth, J.P. Hoornstra and Jill Painter, Los Angeles Daily News; Kevin Baxter, Los Angeles Times; and prominent baseball authors Paul Dickson, Peter Golenbock, Josh Pahigian and Dan Schlossberg.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $10, or $20 lifetime. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available.

For more information please go to