|10-05-2012, 11:01 PM||#9|
Potential Lunch Winner
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Re: Postseason Scoreboard watching....
If you remove that part of the rule, you're right.
Unfortunately, you can't remove that part of the rule.
Immediately. Because -duh- the runners need to know if they can risk advancing or not.
If you don't tell them immediately, they don't know.
First you said the rule did not say immediately.
Then you said it wasn't simply for the runners but it was so fielders didn't miscommunicate.
The rule is for the benefit of the runners, the rule says immediately.
The discussion is over.
The whole freaking rule is so a fielder can't drop an easy pop up and double up the runners.
Nothing else. And if the umps don't call it immediately it defeats the point of the rule. That's why the rule says it twice, to make it clear. To most people who can read and understand the English language.
If you wish to remove the word immediately, then yes, you're spot on!
If you're watchin' a parade, make sure you stand in one spot, don't follow it, it never changes. And if the parade is boring, run in the opposite direction, you will fast-foward the parade. --Mitch Hedberg