![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
Playoffs
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 6,233
|
Spyware/Malware
Is anybody else getting hit with any Spyware or Malware from RZ? I'm not 100 percent confident this has come from RZ - and I'm far from a computer expert - but I've gotten trojan flags both last night on the home PC and again this morning on the work PC immediately when visiting RZ.
This is the alert that popped up this morning as soon as RZ loaded: ![]() Any ideas?
__________________
Barry Larkin - HOF, 2012 Put an end to the Lost Decade. |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
2013 NL MVP and WS MVP
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 6,389
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
I've gotten a few in the last couple days too.
Mine says "an intrusion attempt was blocked" it's a "MSIE Java deployment toolkit input invalidation" Seems to occur during a search routine.
__________________
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 6,007
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
I'll pass this along to our host...thank you.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
Any particular page you're visiting when you get these messages?
I'm not seeing anything "typical" - but if you can tell me where you were, that would help me track it down. Thanks Joe |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Playoffs
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 6,233
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
Mine was the main page itself immediately after it loaded: http://www.redszone.com/forums/index.php
Nothing has popped up in the last few hours though.
__________________
Barry Larkin - HOF, 2012 Put an end to the Lost Decade. |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
I'm wondering if maybe it was an infected google ad, there's nothing to indicate a compromise in the code at all, from what I'm seeing, but I'll keep looking
The latest version of this software is Latest version available: 4.0.5 Current version is 3.8.6 - it might be time to upgrade, or evaluate the upgrade options |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cincy
Posts: 498
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
Not much to add, but I got this exact same message the first time I visited the main page today.
__________________
RALLY CAPS! |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
If anyone encounters this again, please do a screen capture if possible, note the page you were on when it happened, and the approximate time (with time zone).
Email to: mobileterminal@gmail.com Thanks |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 6,007
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
Joe,
One thing I've noticed when loading any page on redszone.com within the past day or so: it seems to be routing through a numerical IP address: 96.30.16.218. I don't ever remember seeing this before. Did we recently move to a different server or what would account for this? |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
Your server IP is 64.128.190.227
That IP (96.30.16.218) is not even owned by us: NameServer: NS2.WIREDTREE.COM NameServer: NS1.WIREDTREE.COM RegDate: 2008-12-03 Updated: 2009-10-29 Ref: http://whois.arin.net/rest/net/NET-96-30-0-0-1 OrgName: Cogswell Enterprises Inc. OrgId: COGSW Address: 53 W Jackson Blvd. Address: Suite 635 City: Chicago http://www.wiredtree.com/ Not sure where you'd be seeing that |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 | |
|
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
Quote:
Have you done an adware/malware scan on your computer? I can't imagine where that'd be coming from |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 6,007
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location: All over
Posts: 6,940
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
I had gotten a Tidserv virus about 10 days ago. I was able to get rid of it with "tdsskiller" (though the computer's now slow and I'm slowly fixing those problems). It's a rootkit virus that attacks anti-virus software at first so that you can't use antivirus software (then it attacks .dll files, the desktop, the registry, and it hides itself so that even if you use an antivirus software on a hard media it won't find it, and it first came around about DEC of 2008, but it's had a huge re-appearance since June. It's really nasty and destroys everything.
I thought maybe I had gotten it from one of the "forum" sites I visited....Bengals Jungle, this one...or maybe Rotoworld, but I actually believe it came through "Google Images", as Google had just changed their "images" format, and it occurred immediately after I had looked up something there. I figured Google had a hole in it that was discovered by the hackers. The hackers come from China on this particular "tidserv" virus. Last edited by Kingspoint; 08-02-2010 at 06:02 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Kmac5
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 3,661
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
Got a virus message on the wife's laptop as well. I will try and screen save it the next time it pops up. Usually happens when I enter via the main page. The laptop has come across it three times in the past few days.
__________________
If you have a losing record at Reds games, please stop going. |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 6,007
|
Re: Spyware/Malware
All,
Based on a recommendation from vBulletin, I've temporarily disabled all Google ads. Please reply to this thread immediately if you receive another virus/malware alert. |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
|
Board Moderators may, at their discretion and judgment, delete and/or edit any messages that violate any of the following guidelines: 1. Explicit references to alleged illegal or unlawful acts. 2. Graphic sexual descriptions. 3. Racial or ethnic slurs. 4. Use of edgy language (including masked profanity). 5. Direct personal attacks, flames, fights, trolling, baiting, name-calling, general nuisance, excessive player criticism or anything along those lines. 6. Posting spam. 7. Each person may have only one user account. It is fine to be critical here - that's what this board is for. But let's not beat a subject or a player to death, please. |