PDA

View Full Version : Arroyo shocked by trade to Reds

oneupper
03-21-2006, 11:10 AM
Arroyo shocked by trade to Reds
By DAVID BORGES, Journal Register News Service
03/21/2006

FORT MYERS, Fla. --- Bronson Arroyo has long said that, if he could, he’d sign a lifetime contract to remain a Red Sox.

Unfortunately for Arroyo, he couldn’t. Now he’s gone, and he’s not happy about it.

Arroyo was traded to the Cincinnati Reds on Monday in exchange for strapping young outfielder Wily Mo Pena. He got the call from general manager Theo Epstein late yesterday morning.

"He said something to the effect of, ‘I’ve got news you probably don’t want to hear,’" Arroyo recalled. "I said, ‘I’m traded to the Reds, huh?’ He said, ‘Yup.’"

And with that, the 29-year-old righthander was thrown for a loss, even though he had heard the trade rumors ever since the start of spring training.

Reached on his cell phone yesterday evening, Arroyo seemed flustered ("My brain’s scrambled, man. I’m just driving down interstate"), upset, hurt and genuinely surprised that he had been traded away.

"Yeah, it came as a shock to me. I mean, why wouldn’t it?"

Arroyo signed a three-year, $11.25 million extension with the Sox on Jan. 19 against the advice of his agent, Gregg Clifton, who warned him that signing at such a discounted price would make him attractive to small-market teams.

Arroyo signed anyway, believing he had a tacit agreement with Jed Hoyer and Ben Cherington, the team’s co-general managers at the time, that he would remain a Red Sox for at least the foreseeable future.

"My exact words were, ‘I’m not signing this deal to be in Tampa Bay in two weeks,’" Arroyo said. "Their exact words were, ‘We don’t foresee you being in any type of deals in the near future. There are no deals involving you at all.’ Whether they meant the near future was tomorrow, I don’t know."