PDA

View Full Version : New Uniforms

PressBox
12-01-2006, 06:15 PM
I figure this deserves a thread separate from the Fanfest thread.

How do you all feel about the new uniforms?

I'll reserve judgment until I see more well-lit photographs and not just the images I saw from the webcast. I'm thankful that they have done away with the sleeveless look, and I won't miss the red pinstripes. The uniform once again makes Red the predominant color, and I like the idea behind the new home/away caps.

The silence was kind of painful when Phil Castellini asked for questions about new uniforms; but then again I'm not sure what kind of questions I would ask in the first place - I'm not a textiles expert!

So I'll be curious to hear others' thoughts...

Doc. Scott
12-01-2006, 06:19 PM
The MLB.com shop sent me an email about "new gear" with this here link:

http://shop.mlb.com/family/index.jsp?categoryId=2566634

dsmith421
12-01-2006, 06:20 PM
Like I said, I absolutely love them. The home uniforms, at least on the web feed, appear a little off-white, which seems very retro to me (almost looks like flannel). I also like the Mr. Red patch.

But the big thing for me is the new typography--I think it's very unique and looks sharp. I've long admired those teams that have instantly recognizable uniform typefaces (think of the Pirates, for example) and the alternate uniforms especially look good with the new numbers (the generic ones always seemed a little cheap to me, especially since we had a few players last year with really long last names).

I also love the all red caps. I hope we get on a home winning streak early and they start wearing the red caps on the road too, but I'm not greedy.

A nod to tradition with a new twist. Great success!

reds44
12-01-2006, 06:38 PM
The MLB.com shop sent me an email about "new gear" with this here link:

WOW thanks for the link!

Home:
http://mlb.imageg.net/graphics/product_images/pMLB2-3390904dt.jpg

Away: