PDA

View Full Version : Article: How to build heroes

Coffeybro
12-11-2006, 04:09 PM
http://www.thedigitalcourier.com/index.php?pSetup=dailycourier&curDate=20061210&pageToLoad=showFreeArticle.php&type=art&index=03

From my hometown newspaper. Its in response to a Winter Ball baseball camp that has been put on for years in our hometown.

How to build heroes
Off The Wall

Somewhere in my belongings I have a baseball card of Mel Roberts.
Yesterday, I got to talk to Roberts about one of my all-time favorite baseball players, Willie Stargell.
I loved ‘Pops’ Stargell the way kids today may love Jeff Francoeur or Albert Pujols.
I met Francoeur, too. Nice guy.
Francoeur and I share home*towns — we’re both from Lilburn, Georgia. Francoeur went to Parkview High; I went to Berkmar. Think East vs.
Central and you understand.
I graduated two years after Francoeur was born.
Where was I, oh yeah, Stargell.
‘Pops’ was my hero. Stargell came to the plate with that dis*tinctive pre-swing ritual and then drove baseballs into the now-thinning ozone layer.
Kids need heroes. It is such a cliché that it seems ridiculous to write it but there is great truth and need in it today — maybe more than ever before.
Francoeur will receive more ‘Baseball Tonight’ air-time for his monster shot homers and the kids who ‘played ball’ with Francoeur, on Saturday, have memories they will never forget.
But we have two heroes right here they can reach and touch.
Randy Ingle may very well be one of the best this county has ever or will ever produce.
Ingle has spent untold thou*sands on advertising and every*thing else it takes to produce Winter Ball. It is money that pays itself back in unusual ways.
It pays itself back with Todd Coffey.
I can almost picture a young Coffey sitting on the floor of Cool Springs Gym. I can certainly pic*ture him now.