PDA

View Full Version : Stats & Strikeouts

Red White
08-16-2007, 10:41 AM
I'm a regular baseball fan who is not well-versed in the intricacies of newer statistical analysis and sabrmetrics. I follow the discussions just fine, but I don't study such things myself. I've got no axe to grind; rather, an honest question:

Correct me if my premise is incorrect, but it seems to me that those who are advocates of these newer statistical analyses consider strikeouts to be an importment metric for pitchers, but dismiss strikeouts as irrelevant for batters. Why? What is the difference? Why are strikeouts "not important" regarding batters, but "very important" regarding pitchers?

SMcGavin
08-16-2007, 11:09 AM
I'm not an expert but I can give you a reasonable answer I think. The short answer is that studies have shown that strikeouts (by a hitter) are only incrementally worse than outs where the ball is put in play. The outs where the ball is in play category includes the so called "productive outs" (which are better than strikeouts) and double play groundballs (which are worse than strikeouts). The difference is so small that if Adam Dunn replaced 100 of his Ks with outs where the ball was put in play, the Reds would gain only one run (which correlates to about 1/10 of a win I believe) on the entire season.

The theory behind pitcher's Ks being an important stat is the idea that a pitcher cannot control the fate of batted balls in play. That is, the batting average on balls in play (BABIP) is not controllable by a pitcher. He can only control his strikeouts, walks, and home runs allowed. I believe there may be some newer data that says pitchers can exert some slight control over BABIP, but I think the general consenus is that large deviations from the league BABIP is mostly luck. Someone correct me if I'm wrong on this.