Turn Off Ads?
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Smart Home Automation

Smart Home Automation

I want to gradually automate my home over the next year or two and am curious if anyone here has done so and what your experience has been. I just started learning how it all works so I'm pretty uneducated so I want to make sure I don't do anything that will make it harder in the future.

I installed a Nest thermostat recently and have an ADT Pulse security system. I'm planning on adding a doorbell cam soon (I may be stuck with the Ring 2 as my current doorbell is perpendicular to the walkway and moving the wires will be more trouble than it's worth so I need a battery operated one).

I plan to do smart lighting soon as well, but will also likely add an indoor and outdoor cam (Nest most likely), and who knows what else.

What are everyone's thoughts on Z-wave vs Zigbee, getting a central hub for everything and which one to get, etc.... Basically, anyone's experience or expertise will be appreciated.
    Grape works as a soda. Sort of as a gum. I wonder why it doesn't work as a pie. Grape pie? There's no grape pie. - Larry David

2. Turn Off Ads?

Re: Smart Home Automation

I'll be curious to hear these answers as well, it's on my to do list.

Championships for MY teams in my lifetime:
    Cincinnati Reds - 75, 76, 90
    Chicago Blackhawks - 10, 13, 15
    University of Kentucky - 78, 96, 98, 12
    Chicago Bulls - 91, 92, 93, 96, 97, 98

“Everything that happens before Death is what counts.”
    ― Ray Bradbury, Something Wicked This Way Comes

We had a small thread about this earlier.

http://www.redszone.com/forums/showt...mart-home-quot

Doesn't seem like we are bleeding edge around here. I have wifi thermostat, and robo-vacuum, have thought about wifi sprinklers and a Ring Type Doorbell but haven't moved on them. Most of the time I think these things are solutions in search of a problem.
    Bud Selig: "I'm the worst commissioner ever"