Turn Off Ads?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup

2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup

USMNT recently announced their roster and I understand that for many reasons it would basically be a B team but man....zero stars on this team. Aside from maybe Dike and a couple youngsters like Busio/Hoppe...not sure who I am excited to see play. Julian Araujo turning down the call up worries me...

Gotta think Mexico is a big favorite here. The fact that I actually recognize some of the players on their roster is probably a bad thing for us.

Would like to hear others chime in who know the players much better than I do as I am an admitted novice fan who basically only follows the USMNT.
    Last edited by DocRed; 07-03-2021 at 06:13 PM.

2. Turn Off Ads?

Re: 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup

The Mexico roster make up isn’t that different from the US. Mostly young guys with a couple more established players who aren’t really starters in their top 11. I would say they are the favorites though. Canada actually has the closest thing to their strongest roster.

When they had to compress the schedule with the Olympics and WC Qualifying and put more emphasis on the Nations Cup, the Gold Cup was just going to take a huge back seat this time around.

4. Likes:

DocRed (07-04-2021)

Isn't Mexico B team better than our B team though? Is Dos Santos over the hill?

Quote Originally Posted by DocRed View Post
    Isn't Mexico B team better than our B team though? Is Dos Santos over the hill?
    I would give them a slight edge yes.

Jona isn’t over the hill, but he’s pretty comparable to Llegett in terms of standing. He is still a very solid defensive mid.

Dike might be best player on either roster
    What would you say.....ya do here?

Watched some of the game last night. Dike looks great as did Hoppe and Busio. The 3 guys I wanted to see played well.