Turn Off Ads?

Thread: San Diego Expects To Implement Season Ticket Sales Cap

San Diego Expects To Implement Season Ticket Sales Cap

Your small market team: We cannot survive without financial flexibility. We can’t spend what the big-market teams do.

San Diego: We’re selling so many season tickets that we’re gonna put a limit on ‘em.

Padres expect to cap season-ticket sales in 2023.

Surging fan interest in the Padres, accelerated by trade-deadline moves that included the addition of 23-year-old superstar Juan Soto, is expected to cause the franchise to implement the first season-ticket-sales cap in history.

“The fan response has been exceptional,” Greupner said. “Right now, people are realizing, I don’t want to be on the outside looking in.”

The reason for a cap is three-fold, Greupner said. Since not all fans can afford to buy packages of at least 20 games, the team wants to hold back enough seats for single-game sales. Limiting season-long sales also would maintain enough inventory for big groups.

Another factor is maximizing revenue, since the team’s payroll is on track to blow past Major League Baseball’s luxury-tax threshold for a second consecutive season. Single-game tickets are sold at full price, while season tickets come with discounts.
    Story: https://bit.ly/3d1efnn #Padres
    Last edited by Ron Madden; 08-04-2022 at 10:13 PM.

2. Likes:

wlf WV (08-05-2022)

3. Turn Off Ads?

Re: San Diego Expects To Implement Season Ticket Sales Cap

if the weather wasn't so awful, i'd move to san diego and root for the padres.

/s

5. Likes:

CySeymour (08-05-2022),M2 (08-04-2022),marcshoe (08-04-2022),Revering4Blue (08-04-2022),RiverRat13 (08-05-2022),SomeCallMeTim (08-05-2022),wlf WV (08-05-2022)

Power of switching back to the Brown/Mustard.
    Go Gators!

7. Likes:

bm1475 (08-04-2022),Old school 1983 (08-04-2022),Revering4Blue (08-04-2022),Wonderful Monds (08-04-2022)

malingered here too long malcontent's Avatar