Turn Off Ads?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Woe is me

Woe is me

Hello RedsZone. Today was the worst day of my professional life. I’m going to spend the next several paragraphs complaining about it. Feel free to stop reading now. That’s probably what I would do if the situation was reversed.

I work in the restaurant industry. I started as a server in 2013 and went in to management after about a year. I’ve worked for a few different concepts. For awhile, I had to work night shifts - my kids were pre-school age and I had to be with them during the day - my wife is a teacher. But a couple of years ago, my youngest started public school and I was able to really focus on my career. In October of last year, I was promoted to General Manager of my home restaurant. We are a large - but old and struggling - chain. I’ve put in 60 hour weeks with an inexperienced management team trying to ensure that we continue to eke out a profit in a highly competitive field. I’ve spent my own money running Facebook ads and my personal time handing out free dessert cards to apartment complexes and hotels. My restaurant has show growth - up almost 10% in YoY sales for a brand that’s down 10% overall. The last few months have been some of the most challenging and rewarding of my professional life.

A couple of weeks ago, I hosted a meeting with some executives from another concept that wants to sell their product as delivery-only using our facility as a “ghost kitchen.” We cleaned, prepared, and practiced for this meeting. Three young executives from the other concept came to meet with me. We made small talk about our shared previous employment with Chili’s. I took them on a tour of my restaurant and we lightly discussed line schematics and strategies for executing their food in our kitchen.