Turn Off Ads?
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: ASTRONOMY Thread

ASTRONOMY Thread

Although I am a mathematician, by profession, astronomy has, from the time I was a little boy, captured my imagination and been my biggest passion. I can't get enough of the wonders of the Universe. We've learned a lot in the last century but there is still so much we don't yet know. I wanted a thread where myself and other like-minded sky watchers could post anything and everything about stars, planets, constellations, nebulae, black holes, dark energy, etc... The Outer space thread seemed to be mostly about UFOs and possible space visitations. Here, feel free to discuss anything astronomy-related.

I'll start with this. August is a very fun month for sky-watching enthusiasts, like myself. In the middle part of the month we have the always impressive Perseid meteor shower. Also, at the end of the month is a super rare Blue Supermoon!!! Make sure not to miss it!

Thanks, in advance , for helping contribute to this topic. I look forward to reading what all you have to say about our amazing Universe!!!

Here'a short video outlining some things to watch for in this sky this month. ENJOY!!!

Its the mathematical potential for a single game to last forever, in a suspended world where no clock rules the day, that aligns baseball as much with the dead as the living.
    ---- Bill Vaughn

"Science adjusts its views based on what's observed. Faith is the denial of observation so that belief can be preserved." ---Tim Minchin("Storm")

2. Likes:

Bob Sheed (08-03-2023),Fil3232 (08-06-2023),Roy Tucker (08-03-2023),WrongVerb (08-03-2023)

3. Turn Off Ads?

Re: ASTRONOMY Thread

Has anyone heard about the recent paper by Rajendra Gupta, published in the Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, in which he theorizes that the Universe is actually 26.7 billion years old, rather than the long-accepted 13.8 billion?

Last edited by Ky Fried Redleg; 08-03-2023 at 12:05 PM.