Only 30 years has the award been given out since it's innaugural award was given to Robert Peary for being the farthest north traveled by a human (documented, of course).

The Hubbard Medal is awarded by the National Geographic Society for distinction in exploration, discovery, and research. The medal is named for Gardiner Greene Hubbard, first National Geographic Society president. It is made of gold and is traditionally presented by the President of the United States.

1906 Robert Peary, Polar Explorer, for "Farthest North Traveled by a Human".

1907 Roald Amundsen, Polar Explorer, for "First to Transit the Northwest Passage".

1909 Robert Bartlett, Polar Explorer, for "Traveled the Farthest to the North Pole".

1910 Ernest Shackleton, Polar Explorer, for "Traveled the Farthest to the South Pole".

1926 Richard E. Byrd, Polar Explorer/Aviator, for "First Flight over the North Pole".

1927 Charles E. Lindbergh, Aviator, for "First Solo Flight Over the Atlantic Ocean".

1931 Roy Chapman Andrews, Gobi Desert Explorer, for "Lifetime Achievement of Work". (the most likely inspiration for Indiana Jones)

1934 Anne Morrow Lindbergh, Aviator, for "Serving as Radio Operator and Co-Pilot on two flights with Charles in 1931 and 1933".

1935 Orvil Arson Anderson & Albert William Stevens, Aeronauts, for "Record Setting Ascent in a Balloon in Explorer II".

1954 British Mount Everest Expedition, Mountaineers, for "First Ascent of Mount Everest".

1958 Paul Allen Siple, Polar Explorer, for "Lifetime Achievement for Several Antarctic Expeditions".

1959 Arleigh Burke & George J. Dufek, U. S. Navy, for "Establishing Antarctic Science Stations".

1962 John Glenn, Astronaut, for "First American to Orbit Earth".

Louis Leakey and Mary Leakey, Anthropoligists, for "Lifetime Achievement for Paleoanthropology". Personally focused on "the Trimates", Jane Goodall, Dian Fossey and Birute Galdikas, encouraging the understanding of primates in their native habitat in order to better understand the evolution of humans.

1963 Norman Dyhrenfurth and his Team, Mountaineers, for "First Americans to Climb to the Summit of Mount Everest".

1969 Frank Borman, Jim Lovell & William Anders, Astronauts, for "First Crewed Flight to the Moon".

1970 Neil Armstrong, Edwin Aldrin & Michael Collins, Astronauts, for "First Crewed Landing on the Moon".

1978 Marie Tharp & Bruce C. Hezeen, Oceanographic Cartographers, for "Lifetime Achievement for discovery of the Mid-Atlantic Ridge which caused a paradigm shift in earth science that led to the acceptance of the theories of plate tectonics and continental drift".

1981 John Young & Robert Crippin, Astronauts, for "First Space Shuttle Flight".

1994 Richard Leakey, Anthropoligist, for "Lifetime Achievement for Paleoanthropology".

1995 Jane Goodall, Primatologist, for "Lifetime Achievement for Redefining the Science of Primatology".

1996 Robert Ballard, Underwater Archaeologist, for "Discovery of the RMS Titanic, the Battleship Bismarck, the USS Yorktown, and the PT-109, along with hydrothermal vents".

1999 Bertrand Piccard & Brian Jones, Baloonists, for "First to Complete a Non-stop Balloon Flight Around the Globe".

2000 Matthew Henson, Polar Explorer, for "Companion to 1st Recipient Robert Peary, not awarded at the time because of his Race (African-American), and thus Farthest North Traveled by a Human at the time that was documented".

2010 The Explorer who just passed away November of 2023 in Myrtle Creek, Oregon, Don Walsh, Oceanographer, for "Bathyscaphe Trieste Dive, the First Crewed Vessel to Reach the Bottom of Challenger Deep in the Mariana Trench, the Deepest Point in Earth's Seabed". Was glad to have him on staff at Oregon State University for many years. He began the Department of Oceanography at USC.

2012 Jacques Piccard, Oceanographer, Co-Pilot with Don Walsh on the Bathyscaphe Trieste Dive", for "what was stated above".

2013 Awarded to three different people for different reasons...

Sylvia Earle, Marine Bioligist, for "Lifetime Achievement for Marine Biology".

James Cameron, Film Director, for "Lifetime Achievement for Deep Sea Exploration and More".

2015 George Schaller, Field Biologist, for "Lifetime Achievement for Field Biology and Conservation".

2016 Meave Leakey, Paleoanthropoligist, for "Lifetime Achievement in the field of Paleoanthropology".

Nainoa Thompson, Navigator, for "first Hawaiian to practice the ancient Polynesian art of navigation since the 14th century". He navigated two double-hulled canoes (the Hōkūleʻa and the Hawaiʻiloa) from Hawaiʻi to other island nations in Polynesia without the aid of western instruments.

2017 Neil deGrasse Tyson, Astrophysicist, for "Lifetime Achievement for the Promotion of Expanding the Understanding of the Universe".

2018 Peter H. Raven, Biologist, for "Lifetime Achievement for the Understanding of Evolution, Taxonomy & Sytematics, Biogeography, Coevolution, Plant Conservation, Ethnobotany & Public Policy".